First week wrap-up

It is the most challenging and rewarding thing I have ever done: after 9 days in the rehearsal room and 3 days on-stage we opened FUNNY GIRL at The Riverside Theatre on Thursday night.

Camille

“I’m the Greatest Star”

I have lived this role for the last decade, learning about it for the first time thanks to Wayne and Mark at Music Theatre of Wichita where I was cast to understudy Stephanie Block in 2001.

In the following years, Fanny Brice has come in and out of my life like a teaser, culminating in getting cast to understudy the role in the much anticipated Broadway revival. Unfortunately, that production was canceled in 2012. So up until now, I had still never actually done it.

But here I am today. My first day off and I am so grateful. To this theatre for daring to do FUNNY GIRL and to the incomparable Jimmy Brennan who has changed my life by giving me this chance and then being the most sympatico collaborator I could have ever asked for.

0104_TCLO_FunnyGirl4_t607

Me hugging Jimmy (which I did a lot)
 

And to this cast who is beyond. Beyond kind, beyond supportive, beyond fun and beyond talented.

People       Single O

“People” with James Sasser as Nicky Arnstein

 
Badass Girls
Jillian Owens, Rebecca Fale, Mary Callahan and Leanne Bowman as the badass Keeney girls. (This picture is my favorite! They are amazing!)
 

SIP

Me with the boys during Saturday intermission. #SIP

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

